Singapore Blog Awards 2009 – Announcing The Winners

After four months of online and offline vote rallying, the winners of’s Singapore Blog Awards 2009 will be revealed on 16 September at the swanky Supperclub. The winners will receive their prizes and trophies from Guest of Honour Mr George Yeo, Minister for Foreign Affairs. Minister Yeo will also be sharing his experience on using the new media.

The organiser received over 1500 blog registrations this year, a 50 per cent increase in registration numbers compared to last year. Online voting to select the best blogs, which closed on 31 July, attracted over 160,000 votes. This is a 100 per cent increase in votes cast compared to the inaugural event last year.

Mr Chua Chim Kang, Editor of and Lianhe Wanbao, said: “We are heartened by the growing participation for the Singapore Blog Awards and hope that it will develop into an annual event that all bloggers can look forward to.”

The judges this year are Mr Man Shu Sum, CEO of Mark Burnett Asia; Mr Kelvin Tong and Mr Royston Tan, both Singapore movie directors; Ms Kuo Jian Hong, Co-Artistic Director of The Theatre Practice; Ms Anna Lim, Radio 100.3FM deejay; Mr Josh Lim, Managing Director of Advertlets; Mr U-Zyn Chua, CEO of; Mr Samuel Ng, CEO of Marine Parade Family Service Centre; Ms Xiao Han, Director and Lyricist of Funkie Monkies Productions and Mr Chua Chim Kang, Editor of and Lianhe Wanbao.

The winner of each category will walk away with a custom-designed trophy created by Singapore Cultural Medallion winner Mr Tan Swie Hian and a variety of sponsored prizes.

All bloggers and voters stand to win a total of over $20,000 worth of prizes by participating in the Awards. Prizes include mobile phones, shopping vouchers, overseas hotel accommodation packages, food products and more.

The 10 award categories this year are: Most Insightful Blog, Best LOL (laugh-out-loud) Blog, Best Individual Blog, Best e-Commerce Blog, Best Photography Blog, EASB (East Asia Institute of Management) Best Youth Blog, Best Lifestyle Blog, Best Modeling Blog, Best WTH (what-the-hell) Blog and Best Food Blog.

Winners of EASB Best Youth Blog and Celebrity Blog Awards

Results of two award categories – the EASB Best Youth Blog and Celebrity Blog Awards – have been announced. Voting for the the best Celebrity Blog Awards categories through online and SMS, in partnership with Rednano Mobile, has picked the following winners:

Best Local Celebrity Blog Winner – Jeanette Aw
Best Overseas Celebrity Blog Winner – Aska Yang

The winner of the EASB Best Youth Blog category was announced earlier at a youth bloggers’ event “The Next Big Blog” gathering on 10 August. Fifteen-year-old Teh Peiqi from Johor, Malaysia is the winner. (

Winners of the remaining categories will be announced on 16 September at Supperclub. The night’s programme also includes performances by award-winning local Chinese instrumentalist group, The Teng Company, as well as singer Chen Diya.

The Singapore Blog Awards 2009 is sponsored by the East Asia Institute of Management (EASB), United International Pictures (UIP), National Heritage Board (NHB), Asia Web Direct, Koka, ST701, HTC and Play Smart Pte. Ltd. It is supported by local search and directory service, Rednano and two blog networks, and

The Singapore Blog Awards 2009 presentation ceremony at the Supperclub is supported by Supperclub, Movie Mania, Fabrix and The Teng Company.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Written by Patrick Tan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Best 10 Celebrity Blogs in Singapore

Best 10 Food Blogs in Singapore